gallery/buff (1)

Hluhluwe Hilltop Honorary Officers

Who are we ?

An Honorary officer is a volunteer who offers their time and expertise to supplement and support the staff of Ezemvelo KZN Wildlife.

Our Vision:.


As Honorary Officers we are committed to a conservation ideal based on maintaining the bio-diversity of our national parks and game reserves in sustainable populations in protected areas where the wildlife has priority and humans can enjoy visiting a fully-functional eco system.

Our Mission:


We use our expertise, time and commitment to support the Ezemvelo /KZN wildlife management and permanent staff of the Hluhluwe Game Reserve to achieve their stated goals and objectives by fostering cordial relationships and thereby, make a meaningful contribution to the wellbeing of the park.



  • We promote the ideals of Conservation Management through

  • Helping and Assisting

  • Observation

  • Nurturing

  • Openness

  • Respect

  • Accountability

  • Reliability

  • Yielding a Service​



1.       Maintain close contact with management and senior staff in the reserve;

2.       Through regular monthly work weekends as a close-knit group, to ensure the

            Park’s amenities and services are maintained and improved.

3.       Identify areas and projects where we can become involved, providing the impetus  

           for successful completion;

4.       Raise funds or sponsorships for projects identified as being beneficial to the park;

5.       To be recognised as contributors to the park and conservation through our efforts,

           by Park Management, Staff and Visitors.

The H O team:



Tiny Major

Dee Honman

Clive Honman (Chairman )

Pieter van Vollenhoven

Sharon van Vollenhoven

Heinrich Coetzee

Liesl Coetzee

Christo Brett ( Vice Chairman)

Saritha Brett

Leamor Brett 

Vian Brett 

Chantelle Slabbert 

Hendrik Slabbert 

Past Members:


Bill Toughey 

Brigid Toughey

Dawn van der Walt

Martin van der Walt 

Pieter Oosthuysen

Sue Oosthuysen 

Christian Kroll 

Tenille Kroll 

Peter Stott

Denise Stott

Mat Jackson  ​


Mike Nel

Lindi Nel

Martin Hopkins

Lara Hopkins

Sybrand van Niekerk​

Shane Mc Intyre​

Jess Mc Intyre​

Vick Partington​

Jenny Partington​

David Potgieter​

Amanda Potgieter​

Mia Oosthuysen​

Peter Du Bruyn